November 17, 2019

Ady’s American Adventure

Ady’s American Adventure


An educational program for string quartet and narrator



Ady’s American Adventure is the story of a young boy who immigrates to the United States in the early 1920s on a quest to discover American music. As he makes his way from Carnegie Hall to the middle of Texas, he encounters a wide variety of music and an even wider variety of musicians! When he realizes that there is no single kind of American music, Ady learns what it truly means to be American.

Through live performances by a string quartet, the story exposes young listeners to classical music, jazz, blues, bluegrass, ragtime, marches, and Native American music.

Each packet includes individual parts for 2 violins, 1 viola and 1 cello, as well as a narrator’s score. Program duration: ca. 30-35 minutes.


  • Mozart String Quartet no. 17 in B-flat major, “The Hunt” (excerpt)
  • Gershwin “Fascinating Rhythm”
  • Sousa “Liberty Bell March”
  • Ellington “Birmingham Breakdown”
  • Traditional “Drowsy Maggie”
  • Joplin “The Entertainer”
  • Handy “St. Louis Blues”
  • Griffes “Two Sketches based on Indian Themes” (excerpt)

Additional information

Weight 18 oz
Dimensions 12 × 9.25 × 0.5 in
Share: / / /
Returns and Replacements

Please note that all sales are final. Any defective products will be replaced at no cost to the customer.

If you have any questions or concerns please contact customer service at (804)230-4515 or email to

If you would like for your order to be tax exempt please register for an account. From there you’ll be able to submit a tax exemption form.